In accordance with Florida law : In Florida, if you have a motor vehicle that has at least four wheels, you must have at least $10,000 of Personal Injury Protection (PIP) insurance as well as at least $10,000 of property liability insurance in case of damage. You can have the option of deductibles up to $1,000 in PIP coverage as well as $500 in property liability.
The insurance for protection against personal injuries protects the insured regardless of whether they caused an incident (are “at-fault”) (or are “at-fault”) as high as $10,000, less the amount of your deductible. PIP was designed in order to cut down on the requirement of suing to recover medical expenses and other related costs arising due to car accidents. In order to be eligible for PIP benefits it is necessary to receive medical treatment and services within 14 days following the accident. PIP benefits include:
- 80 percent of the reasonable medical expenses arising from the accident.
- 60% of the lost wages due to the accident.
- $5,000 for death benefits.
In the event of an accident within Florida, PIP covers you as well as your relatives living at your home, passengers who do not have vehicles, and other people who use your vehicle in your absence. Pedestrians as well as bicyclists have access to PIP coverage. PIP insurance also covers violent acts against the policyholder when driving or commuting, as well as injuries sustained due to carjacking or road rage.
In the event of an accident that occurs outside Florida however within the U.S. or Canada, PIP will cover you and your family members living at home. In this instance, you must drive your vehicle. Other than your family members or friends are not covered.
Insurance for property damage and liability
Insurance for property damage liability pays for any damage you, or other members of your family cause to the property of another when driving. The definition of “property” can refer to such things as a fence, telephone pole or structure, and other vehicles.
The coverage is valid even if you are driving a car owned by another. Based on the conditions and terms in your insurance policy, this could be extended to anyone who utilizes your car with your consent.
Bodily accident liability insurance
Bodily Injury Liability Insurance (BIL) is not typically mandatory in Florida. However, if you’ve been convicted of DUI, BIL is required for a period of 3 years following the date your license has been restored. If you were convicted on or after October. 1st 2007 you must have coverage of $100,000 per person, and $300,000 worth of insurance per incident. Additionally, you need to be able to afford a minimum of $50,000 of property damage insurance.
BIL will pay for serious and permanent injuries or death to other people when your vehicle has been involved in an incident, and the driver is blamed to a certain degree. The policy covers injuries caused by you or family members who live with you, regardless of whether they’re driving another vehicle. The policy also covers drivers who drive your vehicle with your consent. In this kind of policy, the insurance company will cover the legal defense of your case if you are being sued.
Other kinds of insurance
While it’s not legally required Many drivers purchase additional types of insurance in addition to mandatory PIP and property liability insurance for damage. The most common optional insurance coverage is collision, comprehensive and uninsured motorist insurance medical payments, towing rental reimbursement, and even accidental dismemberment and death.
Collision insurance covers repairs to your vehicle if it is involved in a collision with another vehicle, is struck by an object , or flips over. It will pay regardless of who caused the collision. Insurance on collisions doesn’t protect people from injuries or damage to the property of other people.
Comprehensive insurance covers the losses resulting from other events than collisions. Examples are theft, fire vandalism, windstorm flooding, or even the collision of an animal. The damage caused by falling objects is covered in this policy. When you’ve got comprehensive insurance for windshield replacement, it is the sole claim on which you will not be charged a charge for a deductible. Florida law mandates this waiver to encourage motorists to repair damaged or cracked windshields.
You could be required to buy collision and comprehensive insurance if your vehicle is loaned. It is not legal for the lender to demand that you buy insurance from a specific company or agent.
The Uninsured Motorist (UM) insurance is paid the cost if you and your passengers, or family members get hit by an individual who is “at the fault” and is not covered by insurance or does not have enough liability insurance to cover the full damage sustained by you. This is true whether you’re driving in your vehicle or riding in a car belonging to someone else, or are hit by a vehicle as a pedestrian. UM, insurance can also be used to hit-and-run situations or in the event of a “phantom” vehicle crash. UM insurance will cover medical expenses and loss of wages (beyond your PIP insurance coverage) and bodily injuries illness, sickness or death as a result of the accident of a motor vehicle in which passengers and you are a victim of.
Medical payment insurance pays for medical expenses that are not which are covered by PIP that result from an accident. Medical payments insurance is different in comparison to bodily injury liability in that it covers medical costs of you, the members of your household, and passengers, regardless of who’s “at the fault.” Insurance for medical payments is available if the accident occurs within your car, or in someone other person’s car, or even in the street as a pedestrian. It is important to note that health insurance will also cover medical costs that result from car accidents, which are not that are covered by PIP.
Rental reimbursement insurance will enable you to receive reimbursement for car rental expenses if an accident renders your vehicle inoperable. If the driver who was at fault was “at the fault,” that driver’s liability insurance policy could reimburse you to rent a vehicle that is like your own.
Insurance for accidental death or dismemberment offers protection, up to the limit in the terms of the contract, in the event of the possibility of death or dismemberment due to an auto crash regardless of who was “at the fault.” It protects your family members and you as well as those who reside at home.
Rental car companies usually offer insurance for collision damage even though it is similar to insurance however, it is not insurance and is not subject to the supervision that is the Department of Financial Services. If you’re covered under collision coverage as well as property liability you could be covered for damages to rental vehicles driven by you, based on the specifics and conditions that are part of the policy. It is also possible to be covered automatically by your credit card provider in the event that you used the card to book the car. Be sure to check your policy prior to when you hire a vehicle, and then contact your credit card or agent company in case you have any questions.
Warranty on auto service
Service warranties for automobiles are valid only for a certain amount of time and guarantee only repair or replacement of the item specified by the agreement. Warranty contracts are those controlled through the Department of Financial Services. If a warranty for service is worth the cost will depend on whether the warranty will meet your needs.
When you purchase auto insurance
- Get a quote from several licensed insurance brokers. Be sure to request the same insurance coverage from each to ensure that your comparisons are exact. An estimate is a representation of your cost but it’s not a fixed price or contract. It is, however, illegal for an agent to deliberately offer you a low price in order to win your business.
- Make sure that the information you provide on your application is true. Incorrect or incorrect information may cause the company to terminate your policy or decline to pay claims. Always obtain a copy of the form that you signed.
- Make sure you obtain a binder from the agent when you submit the application. Binders are the temporary document that you have insurance until an official policy can be issued. It should include the name of the insurance agent and the insurance company, as well as a list of your vehicles and the insurance you bought, and be attested by the agent.
- Make money orders or checks made payable at the company that you are insured and Never to your agent nor the agency.
- The policy should be delivered to you within 60 days from the date of the policy’s effective. If you do not receive your policy, contact your agent.
- immediately report any changes that affect your insurance policy to your agent. This includes name or address changes or the introduction of a new driver or vehicle or the vehicle you use.
- Be aware of your policy’s renewal date. The policies are typically for either six or twelve months. Most companies will issue an invoice minimum of 45 days prior to the renewal date and due date.
All auto insurance policies should contain a summary as well as the coverage outline in simple terms that are easy to understand.
“Plain languages” descriptions must contain the following information:
- A brief overview of the coverage and benefits, as well as an explanation of the way in which the premium is paid.
- An overview of what is and is not covered under certain conditions. This applies to such things as deductibles, limitations, and restrictions.
- A brief summary of the policy’s cancellation and renewal provisions.
- A description of any credit or additional costs.
Insurance for property damage liability is not required for motorcycle owners unless the driver is required to show “financial liability” due to traffic violations or inability to compensate for the damages caused in an earlier accident. In accordance with Florida laws, PIP insurance is mandatory for all motor vehicles that are registered in this state. This mandatory coverage won’t protect you in the event that you are injured in a crash involving a motorcycle. But, certain insurance companies might provide PIP as well as medical payments insurance on motorcycles in addition to the protection that is available. To operate or ride an unprotected motorcycle it is necessary to be 21 years old and possess an insurance policy with at least $10,000 of medical payments in case of injuries caused by an accident.
In the event that your child resident of Florida or attends school in another state, and has a vehicle that is registered in Florida it is required to have PIP and liability for property damage insurance on the vehicle. The state in which your child goes to school could have different requirements for car insurance.
Anyone who drives an automobile located in Florida for longer than 90 days within a 365-day time frame must purchase PIP and liability for property damage. The 90 days don’t have been consecutive.
If you’ve recently relocated to Florida it is best to contact an insurance representative who can help you with your the details of your insurance policy. Contact your regional Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles Office to learn more about the requirements for driver licensing and procedures for auto registration.
Remember these suggestions:
- Review your policy. Make sure you are aware of the policy. If you have questions contact your agent as well as your local Department of Financial Services by calling toll-free 800-342-2762.
- The choice of the insurance company and agent is entirely yours. There is no requirement to purchase auto insurance from the dealer who supplied you with the car or from the lender financing your vehicle.
- The policy you have purchased can be modified. You may add a new or an additional driver or vehicle to your current policy.
- The clock is in motion. If you suspect you might are entitled to compensation, speak with an attorney as quickly as you can. If you delay too long, the statute of limitations could stop you from filing an appropriate claim.
If you’d like to know more details on the automobile regulations for automobile insurance within the State of Florida call the Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles Customer Service Center at the number 850-617-2000.
Tags: life insurance,term life insurance,whole life insurance,what is life insurance,life insurance explained,life insurance 101,insurance,universal life insurance,life insurance policy,types of life insurance,variable life insurance,term vs whole life insurance,is life insurance worth it,cash value life insurance,what is term life insurance,dave ramsey life insurance,life insurance dave ramsey,best life insurance policy,best life insurance companies,life insurance,insurance,health insurance,car insurance,term insurance,term life insurance,home insurance,types of insurance,insurance policy,insurance explained,insurance companies,whole life insurance,auto insurance,insurance agent,what is insurance,insurance industry,term insurance plan,best term insurance plan,insurance claim,insurance scams,auto- insurance,insurance company,vehicle insurance,term plan insurance,best term insurance
– Advertisement –